Remote management

All about WTware on Raspberry. WTware works with Raspberry Pi 4, Raspberry Pi 3B+, Pi 3 and Pi 2 devices
http://www.winterminal.com
Post Reply
greavette
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 2:26 am

Remote management

Post by greavette » Sun Jul 07, 2019 3:21 pm

Hello Team,

Great project you've created here. Thank you for making it available for us to use on a raspberry Pi.

Ive been using raspberry Pi's as a thin client in our office for more than 6 years now. I've created my own scripts and processes and to date It's been working very well for us. I support our office remotely and it's very important for me to be able to access or Pi thin clients over the network via SSH. Our employees are also not technically inclined working with computers and even if they were we do not want them changing the configs on our thin clients.

I'm very interested in wtware but I feel I need to be able to administer the wtware thin client remotely over our network either via SSH or by another method. Does wtware allow me ssh or remote access to the Pi thin client?

Over the years we have been very stable with our Pi thin clients, but we have had times where the client for the employee appeared locked but I could ssh into the client and reboot it for them. Does wtware allow the ability to remotely reboot a Pi thin client if need be?

I've read somewhere that the wtware thin client when loaded leaves the SD card in read only. My question is related to when an employee needs to hard reset the Pi thin client themselves. I use a power button daughter board on our Pi thin clients. Does wtware allow me to add the script for this board so the employee can long press the power button and restart their Pi thin client? Or can the Power be cut to the thin client without hitting or corrupting the SD card?

Thank you.

greavette
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 2:26 am

Re: Remote management

Post by greavette » Sun Jul 07, 2019 7:39 pm

Follow up to my post.

I found this post suggesting it's ok to simply cut the power to the Pi without risk of corruption to the SD card.

viewtopic.php?t=48167

Can wtware confirm that I don't need a shutdown button and that if needed our employees could hard reboot the wtware raspberry Pi thin client by cutting power and turning it back on.

Thank you.

akatik
SUPPORT
SUPPORT
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote management

Post by akatik » Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:01 am

What do you mean by "administer"? Look at wtware terminal web interface. There are some administrative features there.

Whild debugging I always cut the power to the Pi. And I have never seen SD card corruption.We got some messages about SD card corruption, but not enough to make conclusions about their reasons.

Post Reply