Restart option in menu

All about WTware on Raspberry. Wtware works with Raspberry Pi 3 Model B and Pi 2 Model B devices
http://www.winterminal.com
Post Reply
chad
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 4:43 pm

Restart option in menu

Post by chad » Thu Jun 07, 2018 4:49 pm

Is there an option to add a restart item in the menu. Using the turnoffmenu=on, this adds a Turn OFF the computer menu option, but it would be nice to allow the user to restart as well. Essentially, if I make a change to the config file for a particular unit, it needs to be restarted for those changes to take affect. Yes I can do it remotely, but if a user is in the middle of something, it would be beneficial for me to call them up and tell them to restart when they are finished doing whatever they are doing so that the updated config gets pushed to their computer.

akatik
SUPPORT
SUPPORT
Posts: 279
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Restart option in menu

Post by akatik » Thu Jun 07, 2018 6:11 pm

With current version such config should work:

connection
server=192.169.1.1
connection
application=shutdown

It adds "shutdown" to menu.

If we make reboot in the same way as shutdown, will it be ok for you?

chad
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 4:43 pm

Re: Restart option in menu

Post by chad » Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:39 pm

Yes that would be great, make it the same as shutdown

duri3
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: Restart option in menu

Post by duri3 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:55 pm

I also need a reboot option in infobox. The parameter infobox = reboot instead of infobox = shutdown would be perfect! Will it be in the next update?

duri3
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: Restart option in menu

Post by duri3 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:42 pm

duri3 wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:55 pm
I also need a reboot option in infobox. The parameter infobox = reboot instead of infobox = shutdown would be perfect! Will it be in the next update?
Any updates on this "request"? Any ETA?

Fraal
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:20 am

Re: Restart option in menu

Post by Fraal » Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:15 am

Just be aware that currently when using a RPi 3+ and booting from network (NO SD), cold restarts or menu based restart commands reset it ok but it then never boots, TFTP fails and strange timeouts occur. A hard reset is required to resume.

Not sure if this is a firmware limitation on the B+, the original RPi 3 Model B never had this issue.

duri3
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: Restart option in menu

Post by duri3 » Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:41 pm

We boot from SD Card, so no problems there iI guess. Just need that option in Wtware to get started....

akatik
SUPPORT
SUPPORT
Posts: 279
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Restart option in menu

Post by akatik » Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:09 pm

Please try this build:

http://wtware.com/testing/201808031706.zip

Button in popup window:

Code: Select all

infobox = reboot
Menu item:

Code: Select all

connection
connection
application=reboot

duri3
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: Restart option in menu

Post by duri3 » Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:15 pm

It tried it now and it's working.

i just replaced

Code: Select all

infobox = shutdown
with

Code: Select all

infobox = reboot
We don't use

Code: Select all

application=reboot
since it won't work in combination with chrome.

Thank you very much!

chad
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 4:43 pm

Re: Restart option in menu

Post by chad » Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:04 pm

Has this been added to the most recent build version 5.8.26, or is it just in the testing zip that is provided here?

akatik
SUPPORT
SUPPORT
Posts: 279
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Restart option in menu

Post by akatik » Wed Sep 12, 2018 4:57 pm

This has been added to all versions released after testing zip

Post Reply