DualSceen With application chrome

How it works in WTware without terminal server
Post Reply
ManfredT

DualSceen With application chrome

Post by ManfredT »

Hi WT Ware Team,

is ist possible to run with WTWare on a Raspberry Pi 4 two different instances of chrome on two screens?
Each chrome instance with its own URL?
One has to be active for keyboard input.

Currently I managed to have one chrome on one screen, that worked out of the box with standard configurations.
My keyboard has to be german, but

language=de
and
chrome_language=de

do not work.

Please help
aka
SUPPORT
SUPPORT
Posts: 883
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: DualSceen With application chrome

Post by aka »

ManfredT wrote:
Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:35 pm
is ist possible to run with WTWare on a Raspberry Pi 4 two different instances of chrome on two screens?
No.
ManfredT

Re: DualSceen With application chrome

Post by ManfredT »

Is it planned to be integrated into the chrome kiosk mode?

Maybe in a licensed version?
aka
SUPPORT
SUPPORT
Posts: 883
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: DualSceen With application chrome

Post by aka »

Both chromes will share single mouse and keyboard. Is it what you expect?
ManfredT

Re: DualSceen With application chrome

Post by ManfredT »

This would work, as long as only one sceen has focus.

More important would be to use one PI4 with two monitors and two independent chrome sessions.

Is this already possible or planned?
aka
SUPPORT
SUPPORT
Posts: 883
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: DualSceen With application chrome

Post by aka »

Only one screen has focus. Mouse is the only way to change focus.

In addition, both sessions will have common profile (the same plugins, the same history, the same passwords).

On 1Gig RAM Raspberry both sessions will crush together with a out-of-memory error if you open several YouTube tabs.

Are these sessions independent?

Perhaps it’s better to run two Raspberries?
ManfredT

Re: DualSceen With application chrome

Post by ManfredT »

Okay it sounds it is not impossible what I need.

Both monitors have resolution 1920x1080

I could get only one chrome on one monitor, creating infinite number of tabs, and no chrome on the other screen. Just WT Ware text was shown.
configuration was:

language=de,default
display=1920x1080, HDMI
M2_display=1920x1080, HDMI2
application=chrome
chrome_mode=kiosk
chrome_url=url1_so_show
chrome_language=de
M2_next screen
application=chrome
chrome_mode=kiosk
chrome_url=url1_so_show
chrome_language=de

please help
ManfredT

Re: DualSceen With application chrome

Post by ManfredT »

I think my configuration should work,
but chrome starts only on one sceen and continuously creats new tabs.

Could you please help?
aka
SUPPORT
SUPPORT
Posts: 883
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: DualSceen With application chrome

Post by aka »

ManfredT

Re: DualSceen With application chrome

Post by ManfredT »

Works perfectly, great! Thank You :D
Post Reply