32-bit atom CPU supported?

WTware network boot ways - bootable floppy, DOS, PXE-loaders, BootROM chips.
Post Reply
jzholzer
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 8:38 pm

32-bit atom CPU supported?

Post by jzholzer » Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:47 pm

I have some industrial terminals based on 32-bit ATOM Z510 CPU. I can't get any version of WTware to boot and get a "kernal panic-not syncing: VFS:unable to mount root fs on unknown block" error. I see not documentation as to what platforms the x86 version of WTware should support or if there's any 32-bit support at all.

akatik
SUPPORT
SUPPORT
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: 32-bit atom CPU supported?

Post by akatik » Sat Mar 02, 2019 1:31 pm

I have never seen problem in CPU. WTware runs on RDC and Vortex CPUs. If you have Intel - don't think about CPU. It's ok. Think about BIOS and boot method. And at first: are you using the latest wtware version?

jzholzer
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 8:38 pm

Re: 32-bit atom CPU supported?

Post by jzholzer » Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:57 pm

Well, I was able to get this thing to work with 5.6.xx but no version after that will boot. I even tried putting "noapic acpi=off" in syslinux.cfg but still get "kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!"
I would be fine with the earlier version, but I can't get the touchscreen to work correctly. The log shows that the touchscreen is found but everything works backwards; up and down goes right and left. Nothing I put for touchscreen parameters as shown in the touchscreen settings documentation seems to change this behavior.
Any help would be most welcome, as I need something to run on these out in the field after windows embedded 7 goes to end of life. Windows IoT won't fit.

akatik
SUPPORT
SUPPORT
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: 32-bit atom CPU supported?

Post by akatik » Wed Mar 06, 2019 12:06 pm

Write me what you are doing to boot recent wtware version. Step-by-step, every key you press starting from "format USB stick". Try to do only the necessary steps. Remove "quiet" word in syslinux.cfg and show screen photo after it fails to boot.

"unable to mount root fs" and "Attempted to kill init!" errors are not related to noapic and acpi=. "unable to mount root fs" in recent wtware is especially interesting to me. I thought that this is not possible in the latest versions.

Post Reply